Skip to main content

Skip to navigation menu

Inscripción Abierta 2021
Premio Peña Ganchegui

Skip to navigation menu


The Peña Ganchegui Archive, in collaboration with the Department of Housing and Architecture of the Basque Government, convenes the PEÑA GANCHEGUI PRIZE to the Young Basque Architecture, aimed at architects who, individually or collectively, carry out their professional work in the Autonomous Community of the Basque Country or who have obtained in it the qualifying title for the exercise of their profession.

This biennial Prize receives its name after the architect Luis Peña Ganchegui (Oñati 1926 - San Sebastián 2009), the highest reference of Basque Architecture in the second half of the 20th century.

1. Aims

The award is granted with the intention of recognizing a young architectural trajectory and, at the same time, promoting a career with emerging projection, giving visibility to those contributions that, besides assuming an exemplary professional practice, contribute to promote, develop and consolidate the architectural culture.

Therefore, the prize is not awarded to a specific work or job, but a set of works of a diverse nature. The prize rewards the incipient emergent trajectory of an architect or of a team led by one or several architects within their first 10 years of exercise after qualifying.

2. Target persons

All architects or teams led by architects can enter for the competition, provided that in addition to fulfilling the geographical requirement (having their headquarters in the Autonomous Community of the Basque Country or having trained as architects there) they have obtained their qualifying title after May 16, 2013. In the case of teams, the requirement must be met by all the architects who integrate it.

Architects who are family or work related with the members of the Jury, or those who have obtained it in an earlier edition, will not be eligible for the Peña Ganchegui Prize.

It will be the candidates themselves who will present their candidacy, contributing their merits that may include works, projects and research that contribute to the field of Architecture, covering all areas and scales, from the design of objects to interventions on the territory.

3. Selection criteria

The Jury is sovereign to establish the procedure that it considers appropriate to judge the works in order to assess the criteria of professional capacity, originality, innovation, consistency and those others that it decides to incorporate in its judgment.

4. Jury

The Jury will be composed of 5 members, including a representative of the Department of Environment, Territorial Planning and Housing of the Basque Government and a representative of the Archivo Peña Ganchegui, both of them with voice but without vote, to which three external members will be added with voice and vote, of which two, at least, must be architects. It will also count on a secretary, without voice or vote, appointed by the Archivo Peña Ganchegui.

The Jury of the Fourth Edition of the Peña Ganchegui Prize counts on the following external members:

María Langarita (Zaragoza, 1979). Architect since 2003 by the School of Architecture of the University of Navarra and PhD since 2016 by the ETSAM, where she has been teaching since 2013, she has shared a studio with Victor Navarro since 2005. The Langarita-Navarro studio has been invited to give numerous conferences and workshops, and their work has been selected and shown in various exhibitions, both nationally and internationally, and has also been recognised with awards of various kinds.

Fernando Márquez (Madrid, 1957). Architect since 1980 from the ETSAM, in 1982 he created, together with Richard Levene, the architectural studio and publishing house El Croquis. Since then they have edited and run the magazine of the same name, which has published over 200 issues to date, and the Biblioteca de Arquitectura collection of books on theory and essays, as well as running the El Croquis Architecture Gallery in El Escorial since 1999. In addition to his widely recognised editorial work, he has been invited to participate in various courses, seminars and architecture juries, and a lecturer at the European University of Madrid.

Antonio Ortiz (Seville, 1947). Architect since 1974 from the Madrid School of Architecture, he has shared a professional studio with Antonio Cruz since 1971 after having worked in Rafael Moneo's studio in 1968. He has been a visiting professor in Zurich, Lausanne, Pamplona, Cornell, Columbia, Harvard (where he held the Kenzo Tange Chair), Delft and Geneva. Since 2004 he has been an honorary professor at the University of Seville and holds the Cátedra Blanca at the School of Architecture. Cruz y Ortiz's work has received multiple awards and distinctions, and has been widely disseminated in numerous publications and exhibitions.

5. Prize

The Jury will select a maximum of 10 finalists, one of which will be awarded a single prize of € 6,000. The selected candidates will receive an accreditation of their status as Finalists in the Peña Ganchegui Prize, which in the case of the winning architect or team will have an outstanding format.

6. Dissemination

The award has its own dissemination platforms, available through the url where any information related to the Peña Ganchegui Prize will be published, both during the convocation phase and after the decision, including the communication of the result and the dissemination of the awarded works that can be object of an exhibition and / or publication.

7. Entry

To be eligible for the Prize, candidates must register by 7 July 2023. To do this, they must pay € 20 in the account ES50 2100 5092 11 0200067386 of "La Caixa", indicating "Premio Peña Ganchegui Saria" and the name of the candidate or the team (as applicable) as well as filling out the online form available for that purpose on the website of the award ( The information required includes: Name and surname of the candidate or candidates; Date of qualification; Place of qualification; Workplace; Address, telephone and e-mail for contact. Candidates must submit in this phase, electronically, the proof of payment of the registration fee.

Candidacies, which must be submitted before 07/09/2023 through the online application available on the award website, will consist of one or more PDF files that will include:

– A submission report, in vertical DIN A4 format, of the trajectory that is submitted to evaluation of the Jury, with a maximum extension of 500 words.

– A maximum of 6 pages, in horizontal DIN A3 format, of free content and composition, including graphic and / or written material that illustrates the trajectory that opts for the Peña Ganchegui Prize.

– The documentation proving the fulfilment of the requirements needed to qualify for the Peña Ganchegui Prize.

8. Acceptance of the rules

Entering the Peña Ganchegui Prize competition implies the full acceptance of its rules by the candidates, who also agree to the use by the organizationof all the materials contained in the documentation presented in order to carry out the exhibitions and / orpublications deemed appropriate by the organization.

Any doubts in the interpretation of the present rules will be resolved by the Jury, whose decision will be final.

9. Schedule

16/05/2023: Convening the Peña Ganchegui Prize 2023.

07/07/2023: Deadline for registration.

07/09/2023: Deadline for submission of candidacies.

16/10/2023: Jury decision and presentation of the Prize.

10. Inquiries

Inquiries regarding the award convening can be addressed to this email address: