Skip to main content

Skip to navigation menu

Premio Peña Ganchegui

Skip to navigation menu


The Peña Ganchegui Archive, in collaboration with the Department of Housing and Architecture of the Basque Government, convenes the PEÑA GANCHEGUI Prize to the Young Basque Architecture, aimed at architects who, individually or collectively, carry out their professional work in the Autonomous Community of the Basque Country or who have obtained in it the qualifying title for the exercise of their profession.

This biennial Prize receives its name after the architect Luis Peña Ganchegui (Oñati 1926 - San Sebastián 2009), the highest reference of Basque Architecture in the second half of the 20th century.

1. Aims

The award is granted with the intention of recognizing a young architectural trajectory and, at the same time, promoting a career with emerging projection, giving visibility to those contributions that, besides assuming an exemplary professional practice, contribute to promote, develop and consolidate the architectural culture.

Therefore, the prize is not awarded to a specific work or job, but a set of works of a diverse nature. The prize rewards the incipient emergent trajectory of an architect or of a team led by one or several architects within their first 10 years of exercise after qualifying.

2. Target persons

All architects or teams led by architects can enter for the competition, provided that in addition to fulfilling the geographical requirement (having their headquarters in the Autonomous Community of the Basque Country or having obtained the qualifying title in the same) they have obtained their qualifying title after June 15, 2007. In the case of teams, the requirement must be met by all the architects who integrate it.

Architects who are family or work related with the members of the Jury, or those who have obtained it in an earlier edition, will not be eligible for the Peña Ganchegui Prize.

It will be the candidates themselves who will present their candidacy, contributing their merits that may include works, projects and research that contribute to the field of Architecture, covering all areas and scales, from the design of objects to interventions on the territory.

3. Selection criteria

The Jury is sovereign to establish the procedure that it considers appropriate to judge the works in order to assess the criteria of professional capacity, originality, innovation, consistency and those others that it decides to incorporate in its judgment.

4. Jury

The Jury will be composed of 5 members, including a representative of the Department of Environment, Territorial Planning and Housing of the Basque Government and a representative of the Archivo Peña Ganchegui, both of them with voice but without vote, to which three external members will be added with voice and vote, of which two, at least, must be architects. It will also count on a secretary, without voice or vote, appointed by the Archivo Peña Ganchegui.

The Jury of the First Edition of the Peña Ganchegui Prize counts on the following external members:

Lluis Clotet i Ballús (Barcelona, 1941), architect of the ETSA in Barcelona. He worked with Federico Correra and Alfonso Milà before founding "Studio PER" in 1964 along with Pep Bonet, Cristian Cirici and Óscar Tusquets, with whom he collaborated until 1981. In 1989 he partnered with Ignacio Paricio, who was awarded the National Cultural Heritage Prize in 1999. In 2010 he received the Spanish National Prize to Architecture.

Ángela García de Paredes (Madrid, 1958), doctor architect by the ETSA of Madrid, where she teaches Projects. After collaborating with José M. García de Paredes she founded in 1990 with Ignacio Pedrosa the Paredes Pedrosa Arquitectos studio. Her work has been awarded with the Gold Medal for Merit in the Fine Arts 2014, the Mansilla Prize, the Eduardo Torroja Prize for Engineering and Architecture and the European Prize for intervention in Architectural Heritage AADIPA.

Carlos Quintáns Eiras (Senande-Muxía, 1962), architect by the ETSA of A Coruña, where he is Professor of Construction since 1990. Member of the study Quintáns Raya Crespo until 2002, he has been Professor of Projects at ESARQ in Barcelona, Director of the Tectónica magazine and the Tectonicablog website since their creation, as well as curator, together with Iñaki Carnicero, of the Spanish Pavilion at the 2016 Venice Biennale, pavilion that was awarded the Golden Lion trophy.

5. Prize

The Jury will select a maximum of 10 finalists, one of which will be awarded a single prize of € 6,000. The selected candidates will receive an accreditation of their status as Finalists in the Peña Ganchegui Prize, which in the case of the winning architect or team will have an outstanding format.

6. Dissemination

The award has its own dissemination platforms, available through the url where any information related to the Peña Ganchegui Prize will be published, both during the convocation phase and after the decision, including the communication of the result and the dissemination of the awarded works that can be object of an exhibition and / or publication.

7. Entry

To be eligible for the Prize, candidates must register in advance on July 25. To do this, they must pay € 20 in the account ES50 2100 5092 11 0200067386 of "La Caixa", indicating "Premio Peña Ganchegui Saria" and the name of the candidate or the team (as applicable) as well as filling out the online form available for that purpose on the website of the award ( The information required includes: Name and surname of the candidate or candidates; Date of qualification; Place of qualification; Workplace; Address, telephone and e-mail for contact. Candidates must submit in this phase, electronically, the proof of payment of the registration fee.

Candidacies, which must be submitted before 05/09/2017 through the online application available on the award website, will consist of one or more PDF files that will include:

A submission report, in vertical DIN A4 format, of the trajectory that is submitted to evaluation of the Jury, with a maximum extension of 500 words.

A maximum of 6 pages, in horizontal DIN A3 format, of free content and composition, including graphic and / or written material that illustrates the trajectory that opts for the Peña Ganchegui Award.

The documentation proving the fulfilment of the requirements needed to qualify for the Peña Ganchegui Award.

8. Acceptance of the rules

Entering the Peña Ganchegui Prize competition implies the full acceptance of its rules by the candidates, who also agree to the use by the organization of all the materials contained in the documentation presented in order to carry out the exhibitions and / or publications deemed appropriate by the organization.

Any doubts in the interpretation of the present rules will be resolved by the Jury, whose decision will be final.

9. Schedule

15/06/2017: Convening the Peña Ganchegui Award.

25/07/2017: Deadline for registration

05/09/2017: Deadline for submission of candidacies.

05/10/2017: Jury decision and presentation of the Prize.

10. Inquiries

Inquiries regarding the Award convening can be addressed to this email address: